Special Programs



TMCSuperTech is North America’s premier skills competition for professional commercial vehicle technicians. TMCSuperTech contestants come from all segments of the trucking industry, and many are state, regional or corporate champions.

The competition is a two-day event. Day One features the qualifying round, consisting of a three-part written challenge and various hands-on skills challenges. Day subsequent hands-on skills challenge. Following the Day One qualifying round, there is a reception at which TMC announces the names of a predetermined number of contestants who are eligible to compete on Day Two in the Hands-on Skills Challenge. The last day of the event consists of a technician training fair (featuring numerous hands-on job related training classes that qualify for NATEF continuing education units), followed by an competition awards banquet.

The competition is open to any actively employed commercial vehicle technician. However, all competitors must be TMC Technician Members. Active members are eligible to enter the competition without fee. Nonmembers will pay an entry fee and will become members for the remainder of the year. Verified champions of state trucking association technician skills competitions may enter without paying a fee. Grand Champions of previous TMC National Technician Skills Competitions are eligible to compete. [Membership forms available at or by calling TMC offices at (703) 838-1763.]

TMCSuperTech registration forms can be found at tmcfall.trucking.org. Registrations forms must be postmarked by a specific date set by TMC. Only preregistered contestants are eligible to compete. Contestants are sent a confirmation of their registration and housing accommodations in advance of the event.


TMCFutureTech — Our National Student Technician Competition onsists of a set of skill stations for post-secondary technician students, and patterned after TMCSuperTech.  Sponsored by:

TMC’s PTDC Technician Training Fair — Offers a series of training sessions for technicians and supervisors.

Click here for a listing of all PTDC Friend of the Technician Sponsors


Guidelines on how to conduct a TMCSuperTech-styled Competition (PDF)

For results and news from past TMCSuperTech / TMCFutureTech competitions, click here.

For links to TMCSuperTech videos, click here. 



2005  Steve Talmadge
2006  Tyson Sontag
2007  Bryan Lewis
2008  Bryan Lewis
2009  Christopher Tate
2010  Jeff Schlecht
2011  Jeff Schlecht
2012  Chris Barnett
2013  Mark McLean, Jr.
2014  Mark McLean, Jr.
2015  Eric Vos
2016  Eric Vos
2017  Mark McLean, Jr.
2018  Philip Pinter
2019 Kelby Bentley
2021 Christopher Tate

The need for vibrant leadership is at the core of every organization striving for continuous improvement and excellence.  The Technology & Maintenance Council “TMC Leaders of Tomorrow Leadership Program” identifies and cultivates the next generation of TMC leaders and advances the needs of the transportation industry through professional development opportunities. Talented, young fleet professionals who join the program become part of TMC’s foundation for building a better and stronger trucking industry. 

For more information, click here to download our program flyer.

Candidates for the program must: 

  • Be employed by a TMC member company
  • Be nominated by direct supervisor or company executive
  • Commit to attend four scheduled meetings 

Click here to nominate someone for the TMC Leaders of Tomorrow Program

TMC Leaders of Tomorrow